June 2, 2014


CSDC Winners

Members of the University of Victoria team with the CSDC trophy. From left to right: Cass Hussman, Devin Pelletier,
Spencer Davis, Justin Curran, CSDCMS President Larry Reeves, and Nigel Syrotuck.

The Canadian Satellite Design Challenge (CSDC) completed its second offering last week, with the University of Victoria winning top honours for its satellite, while the University of Manitoba won the inaugural UrtheCast Educational Outreach Award.

Six teams were represented at the Canadian Space Agency's David Florida Laboratory in Ottawa: Victoria, British Columbia, Manitoba, Waterloo, Concordia, and a combined team from the École Polytechnique de Montréal and the University of Bologna.

Four of the teams were able to subject their satellites to a vibration test which simulated the vibration experienced during launch. Following the testing, the teams performed functional tests on their satellites to demonstrate that they had survived the vibration. One team detected a component failure inside their spacecraft, and another had cracks on the structure, but their payload experiments were still able to receive commands and function.

The CSDC Management Society (CSDCMS), the not-for-profit organisation which offers and manages the competition, is extremely grateful for all the support that it has received – both financial and in-kind - which enables the CSDC to take place. In particular, we would like to thank:The CSDC was fortunate to be able to conduct the testing at the David Florida Laboratory, and we would like to thank the DFL management, engineers, technicians, and commissionaires who were so professional, accommodating, and patient with us. We would also like to thank Patrick Gavigan of Defence Research & Development Canada, and Adam Latour of Microsat Systems Canada Inc., who contributed their time – and passed a wealth of experience on to the teams - as judges.

• The Boeing Company
• MDA Corp.
• The Canadian Space Agency and the David Florida Laboratory
• UrtheCast Corp.
• Defence Research and Development Canada (DRDC)
• Mitacs
• Magellan Aerospace Corp.The Educational Outreach Award was presented to the University of Manitoba team, which had given presentations to a combined estimated audience of over 4,000 people, including hundreds of elementary and secondary students (their outreach efforts in the first CSDC were similar).


University of Manitoba ("UMSATS ") team leader Greg Linton receives the UrtheCast Educational Outreach Award
from CSDCMS President Larry Reeves

Based on the interest expressed by the students in attendance, the CSDCMS will now prepare to commence the 3rd CSDC, starting in September.

For further information, please contact:
Larry Reeves
CSDCMS President
Ph: 778-988-6343
E: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

FacebookMySpaceTwitterDiggDeliciousStumbleuponGoogle BookmarksRedditNewsvineTechnoratiLinkedInRSS Feed
Pin It